A patient must first see a certifying provider for a medical marijuana recommendation. A Maryland patient may then obtain legal medical cannabis from Maryland-licensed dispensaries. The dispensaries can only obtain their cannabis from Maryland-licensed growers, and their extracts from Maryland-licensed processors.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
- Where can I obtain Medical Cannabis?
- Where can I find a list of Dispensaries?
You can find a full list of opened on our Dispensaries page. You can also find a list from the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission website www. http://mmcc.maryland.gov/. Patients may only obtain a thirty-day supply at one time from a licensed dispensary and please note, a written certification that is not used to purchase medical cannabis within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void.
- When will medical cannabis be available to buy?
As of Dec. 1, 2017, licensed companies are sending medical cannabis to licensed dispensaries to sell to qualified patients. For the next few months, dispensaries will be building up their inventories of medical cannabis products.
- Is there a residency requirement to participate in the medical cannabis program?
Any person who lives in Maryland can participate in the program. A person from out-of-state who is in the state for the purpose of receiving medical care can be issued a written certification and obtain medical cannabis.
- How do I get a “WRITTEN CERTIFICATION”?
A patient needs an in-person visit with a registered doctor with whom the patient has a “bona fide doctor-patient relationship.” If the patient meets the doctor’s criteria for treatment with medical cannabis, the doctor will issue a written certification. The doctor records the written certification in the Commission’s database.
- What is a “BONA FIDE DOCTOR-PATIENT RELATIONSHIP”?
It means the physician has examined the patient, reviewed medical records, assessed the patient’s medical history, maintains records on the patient, and will provide follow-up care to the patient as needed.
- What do I do after I get the “WRITTEN CERTIFICATION?”
The patient can go to any licensed dispensary to pick up medical cannabis. Some dispensaries will deliver medical cannabis to the patient’s home. The dispensary must check the Commission’s secure database to confirm that the patient has a “written certification” and confirm the patient’s identity. The dispensary will record how much medical cannabis has been dispensed to the patient.
- Does my health insurers cover the cost of filling for a “WRITTEN CERTIFICATE?”
No we do not accept Insurance. Health insurers are not required to cover the cost of medical cannabis. Private health insurers are free under Maryland law to develop policies that will cover medical cannabis. At this time, the cost of medical cannabis is not reimbursable by any private or public insurance plan, Medicare or Medicaid, or through Veterans’ covered plans.
- How long will it take to obtain a ``WRITTEN CERTIFICATION``?
After the doctor has examined the patient and the patient’s records, the physician may issue the patient a written certification.
- What Will I need for my appointment?
The day of your appointment you will need a Photo ID and medical records. Your medical records must be within the past 12 months of your appointment date.
- How much will my Maryland Medical Cannabis Written Certification Cost?
The written certification is at no cost to you at all. However, the evaluation with one of our qualified and registered Doctors is $200. That price includes assistance with all paperwork, doctors visit, and any other help throughout your filling process.
- Do I need a Patient ID Card?
No. The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission has a database that keeps your unique ID number and your information.
- Can I get my Medical Cannabis form DC Dispensaries?
At this time the District of Columbia is not dispensing medical cannabis to any Maryland resident.
- How do I apply for a Patient ID Card?
You can request an ID card when you receive your written certification and we will process it through the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission or you can apply for one later.
- How much medical cannabis (Dried Flower) can a qualifying patient possess at one time?
No more than 120 grams or approximately four ounces, unless a doctor makes a special determination that a patient needs more.
- Is there a maximum amount of THC in an extract a patient can get in a month?
Yes, 36 grams of THC.
- Will Cannabis Oil be considered a type of medical cannabis?
Yes, if a Maryland-licensed processor produces the cannabis oil.
- How will patient confidentiality be assured?
Federal law (HIPAA) requires that we — along with the MMCC and dispensaries — protect patient privacy and confidentiality. The MMCC database will meet HIPAA standards and protect patient confidentiality.
- Can patients cultivate their own cannabis? Can a caregiver cultivate cannabis for patient?
No, Maryland law will not allow this.
- Where can I legally travel with medical cannabis?
A legal patient may travel to any location in the state of Maryland (other than federal government property when in possession of medical cannabis). Possession of cannabis is a violation of federal law and Maryland residents should carefully read the current state statutes regarding the use of medical cannabis and be aware that taking cannabis across State lines is a federal offense. Cannabis is also illegal on federal government property. The State of Maryland laws cannot authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.
- Can veterans get medical cannabis?
Veterans can obtain medical cannabis in the same way as other patients, but not from the Veterans Affairs health system. Veterans need to make sure that using medical cannabis will not disqualify them from Veterans Affairs health system procedures they might need.
- What if I want to obtain medical cannabis from a different dispensary?
A patient may obtain medical cannabis from a dispensary of their choice. The patient’s written certification will be recorded in the Commission’s database and can be confirmed by any licensed dispensary.
- I don’t want to smoke cannabis. Will edible medical cannabis products be available in Maryland?
Medical cannabis will be available in forms that can be vaporized, which is not smoking, or as extracts, lotions, ointments, tinctures, etc. Some extracts can be added to foods at home. Edible cannabis products will not be available from dispensaries in Maryland.
- Are the Doctor registry and Patient registry linked?
Yes, the Commission’s database system does link the doctor and patient registries through the written certifications. Each patient may only have one written certification and one certifying doctorat a time. After 30 days, a patient may seek renewal of the written certification; the renewal certification supersedes the previous written certification. A certifying doctor may terminate a written certification.
- My employer tests for drug use including cannabis. Can they test me if I am a medical cannabis patient? Can they fire me if I use medical cannabis?
Maryland law does not prevent an employer from testing for use of cannabis (for any reason) or taking action against an employee who tests positive for use of cannabis (for any reason).
- What information will be contained on the written certification?
Patient name, address, date of birth, doctor’s name, the date of patient qualification, and medical condition(s).
- Does the patient need to be registered before the patient visit in order to obtain a written certification for the patient?
Yes, a qualifying patient will receive a Commission-assigned patient number after registering through the Commission’s patient registry. The patient’s registered doctor can then link to the patient by entering the patient’s assigned number on the Commission’s secure database, and issue an online certification for medical cannabis.
- Can a doctor revoke a patient’s certification?
Yes, a doctor may amend or revoke a certification on any medical grounds, if the patient no longer meets the doctor’s inclusion criteria, or the patient now meets the doctor’s exclusion criteria. Two examples of exclusion criteria are that the doctor suspects that the patient is abusing cannabis or the patient is diverting cannabis to others.
- Are there limits to “the reasons the doctor may deny issuing a written certification of medical cannabis” (10.62.03.01A (5))?
One reason a doctor may deny issuing a written certification is that the condition with which the patient presents is outside the field of practice and specialty of the doctor. A reason that a doctor may specify as an exclusion criterion, and terminate a written certification is that the doctor has, in the course of his education and research, determined that the patient is not an appropriate patient for medical cannabis. A doctor is free to define his or her exclusion criteria as narrowly or broadly as they think may be appropriate for their practice.
- After I obtain my ``Written Certification`` how long do I have until it is void?
A written certification that is not used to purchase medical cannabis within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void.
- What are the Patient Registration Instructions?
Please visit http://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/patients.aspx for detailed registration instructions